Robert Andrew – Whitewash Over the Burn



In 2020, the Alice Prize will celebrate its 41st incarnation with the award for the winning artwork of $30,000.

The Alice Prize is an acquisitive national contemporary art prize, welcoming entries from around Australia, in any medium or theme.

Significant among regional art prizes, the Alice Prize contributes to one of the largest regional collections of contemporary Australian art, with works by leading artists acquired since 1970.

Coordinated by the Alice Springs Art Foundation, the Alice Prize is judged by an expert selection panel and judge of national standing, with national exposure for exhibiting artists and the opportunity to show in Mparntwe/Alice Springs, the cultural heart of Australia.


Important Dates

  • Official opening & announcement of the winner of the 41st Prize will be on Friday 17 April 2020 at 6pm at the Araluen Arts Centre, Alice Springs
  • Exhibition Dates Saturday 18 April to Monday 8 June 2020
  • Announcement of People’s Choice winner Tuesday 9 June 2020

Judge – Rhana Devenport

The judge of the 41st Alice Prize will be Rhana Devenport, Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia.

Rhana Devenport ONZM is the Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia and the first woman to hold this position. She is a museum director, curator, editor, and cultural producer whose career spans art museums, biennials and arts festivals. As former Director of Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki she, in 2017, curated the work of Lisa Reihana for the New Zealand Pavilion at the Venice Biennale. Prior to that she was Director of the Govett-Brewster Art Gallery in New Plymouth, leading to the development of the Len Lye Centre. In Australia she worked on the first four APTs at QAGOMA. Her curatorial interests include contemporary art of Asia and the Pacific, time-based media and social practice.

Selection Panel

Chips Mackinolty, a Northern Territory-based artist and writer, has worked for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal organisations over 40 years as an advocate, consultant, researcher, journalist, artist and graphic designer. He has been represented in 250 group and one person shows in Australia and overseas since 1977.

Has worked as a printmaker since 1969, and a member of the Earthworks Poster Collective (1973-1980); Marine Stinger Graphix (1980-81); Jalak Graphics (1981-1990). Worked in Townsville as a community arts officer (1980-81); in the NT as an Aboriginal Arts advisor in Katherine and Uluru (1981-85); Northern Land Council field officer, researcher, graphic artist and journalist (1985-1990); as a journalist with Fairfax and others (1990-2001). Also worked with Redback Graphix (1990s). A graphic arts and research group, Green Ant RAP followed in the 1990s. In the 2000s he worked for the NT Government, including as advisor to Minister for the Arts, thence for the Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance NT in policy and research as well as a graphic artist (2009-2013). 2013-2018 spent part time in Sicily and elsewhere in Italy producing gallery exhibitions and street art. Currently based in Alice Springs heading up a health research partnership.

Primary work has been as a screenprinter until the mid-1990s on paper and fabric; and thence in digital print making on paper and fabric, including extensive banner work as multiples. Work has covered gallery and street art.

Bruce Johnson McLean is a member of the Wierdi people of Central Queensland. He currently holds the position of Curator, Indigenous Australian Art at the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art. Bruce has curated many exhibitions for QAGOMA including Tony Albert: Visible 2018, Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori: Dulka Warngiid Land of All 2016My Country, I Still Call Australia Home: Contemporary Art from Black Australia 2013, Joe Rootsey: Queensland Aboriginal Painter 1918-63 2010,  Nurreegoo: The art and life of Ron Hurley 1946-2002 2009 and theXstrata Coal Emerging Indigenous Art Award 2007 and 2008, co-curated Goobalathaldin Dick Roughsey: Stories of this Land 2019 and GOMA Q: Contemporary Queensland Art 2015 and has been a part of the curatorial team for Land, Sea and Sky: Contemporary Art of the Torres Strait Islands 2011, Story Place: Indigenous Art of Cape York and the Rainforest 2003 and the Asia Pacific Triennial and Contemporary Australia series’. He is currently planning a major retrospective of the art and life of Mrs Waal-Waal Ngallametta entitled Show me the way to go Home for mid-2020. In 2002 he was awarded the NAIDOC National Aboriginal Youth of the Year and is engaged in a range of cultural activities within his own family and community.

Director, Monash University Museum of Art | MUMA

Charlotte Day joined Monash University Museum of Art | MUMA as Director in 2013 and has led the artistic program and strategic development of the museum since that time. Previously Charlotte worked as an independent curator and was Associate Curator at the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art (ACCA) working on major installations by international and local artists. Charlotte has worked across a range of public and private contexts, from advising on acquisitions of works for public and private collections including the Michael Buxton Collection of Contemporary Australian Art, to curating Australia’s Pavilions for the 2005 and 2007 Venice Biennales, the Tarrawarra Biennial in 2009, and co-curating the Adelaide Biennial of Australian Art in 2010. Charlotte has over twenty-five years of experience in curating and in arts management, having held positions of Director and Acting Director respectively at two of Melbourne‘s key contemporary art spaces, the Centre for Contemporary Photography and Gertrude Contemporary. She is currently a Board member of Collingwood Arts Precinct (CAP) and a member of the City of Melbourne’s Public Art Advisory Committee.



Finalists 2020

We are delighted to announce the finalists for The Alice Prize 2020. You will receive an email outlining next steps.  Please contact [email protected] if you need to know more.

The selection process was intense, with 595 entries assessed by the expert selection panel.
We congratulate these 56 artists on being selected as finalists for the acquisitive prize.

Abdul-Rahman Abdullah WA
Rebecca Agnew VIC
Margaret Ambridge SA
Chris Antico NSW
Graham Badari NT
Alec Baker SA
Franca Barraclough NT
Joshua Bonson NT
Jessie Victoria Bonson NT
Amanda Brown WA
Chris Carmody QLD
stuart cook NSW
Gerwyn Davies NSW
Aly de Groot NT
Doreen Djorlom NT
Wayne Eager NT
Fiona Foley Qld
Claire Freer NT
Kay Gibson WA
Joe Guymala NT
megan hales NSW
Jeffrey Hamilton NSW
Rew Hanks NSW
Lee Harrop NT
Naomi Hobson QLD
Ross Hucks Qld
Grace Kemarre Robinya NT
Fiona Kemp NSW
James Lai NSW
Sally M. Nangala Mulda NT
Paula Mahoney VIC
Donna Marcus QLD
dani marti NSW
Ngarralja Tommy May WA
Gabrielle McDonald QLD
Ingrid Morley NSW
Kent Morris Vic
Pru Morrison QLD
Peter Mungkuri SA
Barbary O’Brien SA
Elizabeth O’Donnell NSW
Tanya Ogilvie-White NSW
Nicole O’Loughlin TAS
Maria Josette ORSTO NT
Thea Perkins NSW
Megan Puls QLD
Paula Quintela QLD
Layli Rakhsha WA
Yasmin Smith NSW
Liliana Stafford WA
Ruvé Staneke NSW
J9 Stanton NT
Neridah Stockley NT
Mervyn Street WA
Marina Strocchi NT
Doris Thomas NT

Get all the latest news and updates from The Alice Prize – sign up to our mailing list.