Announcing the winner of The Alice Prize 2020

Thea Anamara Perkins, Tent Embassy

Tent Embassy

Thea Anamara Perkins

The inspiration for my painting is a treasured family photo of my grandfather Charles Perkins and aunt Rachel Perkins taken during a land rights protest outside Old Parliament House in Canberra. My grandfather was born at the Bungalow (then the Half-Caste Institution) in Mparntwe/Alice Springs. This image is reflective of the way that politics was personal for my grandfather, and that he dedicated his life to the fight for justice for our people.



This artwork, Tent Embassy by Thea Anamara Perkins, has been acquired by the Alice Springs Art Foundation and gifted to the people of Alice Springs.

40.5cm x 30.5cm

Acrylic on clayboard

Highly Commended

Gerwyn Davies, Adonis

Grace Kemarre Robinya, Night Time Raining at Mount Allan

Fiona Foley, Hoodwinked

Peter Mungkuri, Ngura (Country)

People’s Choice

Margaret Ambridge, Struggling to Remember

Alice DeBrenni

Chair of the Alice Springs Art Foundation

On behalf of the Alice Springs Art Foundation I offer congratulations to Thea Anamara Perkins – winner of the 41st Alice Prize and also to the Highly Commended artists: Gerwyn Davies, Grace Kemarre Robinya, Fiona Foley & Peter Mungkuri.

Thea’s artwork ‘Tent Embassy’ has undergone a rigorous selection and judging process and will now become part of the Araluen Art Collection joining 192 other artworks acquired by the Alice Springs Art Foundation since the Alice Prize began in 1970.

I would like to thank the judge Rhana Devenport for taking on the challenging task of judging the Prize this year.

I would also like to thank everyone who has been involved in the process of putting together the 41st Alice Prize.

This year is the 50th anniversary since the Alice Springs Art Foundation was formed and the first Alice Prize was held. The current closure of art galleries to the public due to COVID-19 has been challenging, however I am very pleased that the exhibition has gone ahead and will be available to be viewed online.
Alice deBrenni (ASAF Chair)

Rhana Devenport

Judge of The Alice Prize 2020

Thea Anamara Perkins has honed her attention on a singular moment in time that has both great personal and political potency. Her exquisite jewel-like embrace of painting and its potential reinvigorates realism and conveys both familial tenderness and profound historic change in this country. 
Rhana Devenport (Judge)

Thea Anamara Perkins

Winner of The Alice Prize 2020

It’s truly a profound honour to be the recipient of the Alice Prize in the company of so many incredible artists that I respect and admire. I dedicate it to the memory of my grandfather Charlie and my great grandmother Hetti, especially in trying times like these I look to them for inspiration. I’m overjoyed as an Arrernte woman that this work has it’s home in Alice Springs on country.
Thea Anamara Perkins (winner)

Get all the latest news and updates from The Alice Prize – sign up to our mailing list.